88 Portrait SPEED-SHOOTING in 9 Minutes and 16 seconds - UNCUT REAL TIME version 11 min

88 Portrait SPEED-SHOOTING in 9 Minutes and 16 seconds - UNCUT real time version TIME LAPS 3 min

88 Portrait SPEED-SHOOTING in 9 Minutes and 16 seconds - “Making of” Enriched EDITED VERSION 16 min

LINDA REVEALS HER SECRET

Technical details on speed shooting 88 portraits in 9 minutes and 16 seconds, by Linda-Köhler Sandring

The BOUNCE-WALL speed shooting that I imposed upon myself really put pressure on me at this beautiful wedding celebration. It was pouring rain just 15 minutes before the table could be set, and a few minutes after the BOUNCE-WALL speed shooting it started up again. So I had a rain-free window of clouds/sun/clouds/sun of about 45 minutes. My only chance to capture the series of 88 portraits with the BOUNCE-WALL that day.

I normally shoot such portraits at dawn or dusk, because then I don't have to flash out the daylight as much. And I can work with an aperture 2.0 to reduce the focus range. That's my favorite aperture for portraits.

But such is the life of a photographer: On a day as special as a wedding day, we have to anticipate any kind of weather and be able to handle it, no matter how inclement. I want to offer every bridal couple this extraordinary quality. They should always be guaranteed high-quality pictures, regardless of the weather.

So: Plan B = Very short exposure time to rob the sun of power and lots of flash output to outshine the sun. After all, we want a "studio situation" for the portraits.

Camera: Canon 5DM3

Lens: Canon 24 - 70 mm (always set to 50 mm)

Flash: Canon 580EXII full power, TTL

Shutter speed: 1/400th

Aperture: 22 (I only use it in a pinch)

It's important to talk to the guest before taking his or her picture. Establish contact. It is great if the guests are all wearing name tags. Then I can address each person by name.

I took only one or two pictures of most of the guests. After years of experience, I usually know whether or not the picture is right.  Most of the time I do not even need to look at the display. I almost always know: I got it! That was good! 

And now the best part: Retouching all the pictures took less than five minutes.

Why? After choosing the best of the very few pictures actually taken, 88 different portraits were left over. They all had the same exposure and the same black background, and they were all taken without daylight being a factor.

The conditions for synchronization in Lightroom were nearly perfect, because they were the same for all 88 images. This is what I set:

Focus: 61

Clarity +3

Lights -59

Vignetting -51

 

Then the photos were ready to be printed. 

So:

  • Less than 10 minutes for 88 great portraits - you've probably never heard of that!
  • About five minutes of synchronizing to fine-tune the photos
  • The guests were all sitting at the table waiting for the food to be served. I entertained everyone and they all had fun participating in the portrait series. No one had to go to a separate portrait corner, which tends to be aggravating and interfere with the good mood - and that good mood is obviously better for shooting the guests. So all of the wedding guests were relaxed for the photos, because they could see that it was absolutely painless for the person sitting next to them. This special shooting actually created a party mood.

 

The BOUNCE-WALL speed shooting was over before it even really got started. The perfect solution for a day when there is already enough going on.

I can rely absolutely on the BOUNCE-WALL.

It is just a simple piece of plastic, positioned to the side and slightly above the faces, that reflects the flash at just the right angle.

 

This BOUNCE-WALL is as small as a standard sheet of letter paper - just big enough to create the perfect portrait lighting and 15 - 20 times larger than a normal flash.

If I know what I want, the BOUNCE-WALL can always accommodate me: all of the TTL functions remain intact, the flash stays where it always is, and all of the electrical contacts on the flash base can be used.

 

I can use the time saved for the most beautiful, classic wedding motifs. And the black and white portraits can be sold to family members as a separate album.

Which family can claim a who's who of their loved ones - compiled on the bridal couple's wedding day? All of the guests are decked out in finery, which is how they want to show themselves to others and be seen in an album.

 

And I have more time to deal with the couple's friends. I am particularly passionate about group and couple pictures. All of the guests got to know me, and they saw how precise and cheerful I am as I work. The proof is in the awesome pictures they see after the wedding. It paves the way for more wedding jobs.

 

Since I have been using the BOUNCE-WALL, my weddings are much more relaxed. Once I have been around the table, I know that I have captured every single guest. I'm sure you know what I mean: Did I get a picture of that guest or not? With my new wedding photograph production strategy, that no longer happens to me.

88 Portrait SPEED-SHOOTING in 9 Minuten und 16 Sekunden - Ungeschnittene Version in Echtzeit 11 min

88 Portrait SPEED-SHOOTING in 9 Minuten und 16 Sekunden - Ungeschnittene Version im Zeitraffer 3 min

88 Portrait SPEED-SHOOTING in 9 Minutes and 16 seconds - “Making of” Enriched EDITED VERSION 16 min

LINDA LÜFTET IHR GEHEIMNIS

Technische Erläuterungen zum Speed-Shooting von 88 Portraits in 9 Minuten 16 Sekunden durch Linda-Köhler Sandring:

Bei dieser wunderschönen Hochzeitsfeier stand ich mit dem mir selbst auferlegten BOUNCE-WALL Speed-Shooting unter Druck. Noch 15 Minuten bevor der Tisch gedeckt werden konnte, goss es in Strömen und wenige Minuten nach dem BOUNCE-WALL Speed-Shooting regnete es weiter. Ich hatte also ein regenfreies Wolken/Sonne/ Wolken/Sonne-Zeitfenster von ca. 45 Minuten. Meine einzige Chance für den Tag, die 88er-Portrait-Serie mit der BOUNCE-WALL festzuhalten.

Normalerweise mache ich diese Portraits in der Dämmerung, da muss ich das Tageslicht nicht so stark weg-blitzen und kann mit Blende 2.0 arbeiten, um den Schärfenbereich zu reduzieren. Das ist meine bevorzugte Arbeitsblende für Portraits.

Aber so ist das Fotografenleben: An einem solch einzigartigen Tag wie dem Hochzeitstag muss man mit jedem Wetter rechnen und jede missliche Wettersituation meistern. Diese außergewöhnliche Qualität möchte ich als Hochzeitsfotografin jedem Brautpaar abliefern. Ich möchte jedem Brautpaar eine hohe Qualität der Bilder garantieren, unabhängig von der Wettersituation.

 

Also: Plan B = eine sehr kurze Belichtungszeit, um der Sonne die Kraft zu rauben und viel Blitzpower, um die Sonne zu überstrahlen. Wir möchten ja eine „Studiosituation“ für die Portraits.

Kamera: Canon 5DM3

Linse: Canon 24-70mm (immer auf 50mm gestellt)

Blitz: Canon580EXII volle Power, TTL

Verschlusszeit: 1/400stel

Blende: 22 (setze ich nur im Notfall ein)

 

Wichtig ist den Gast, der fotografiert wird, anzusprechen. Kontakt herzustellen. Perfekt ist, wenn alle Gäste ein Namensschild tragen, dann kann ich als Fotografin  jeden Gast persönlich ansprechen. Ich habe bei den meisten Hochzeitsgästen nur 1-2 Fotos gemacht. Nach vielen Jahren Fotografenarbeit hat man ein gutes Gefühl, ob das Bild sitzt oder nicht. Meist muss ich nicht einmal aufs Display schauen. Ich weiß fast immer: Das war‘s! Das ist gut! 

 

Und jetzt kommt der Clou: Für die gesamte Nacharbeit habe ich nicht einmal 5 Minuten benötigt.

Warum? Nach der Auswahl aus den wenigen Auslösungen blieben 88 Fotos übrig, die ja alle gleich belichtet wurden, mit dem gleichen schwarzen Hintergrund fotografiert waren, ohne Tageslichteinfluss.

 

Die Voraussetzungen für eine Synchronisation in Lightroom sind so geradezu perfekt, weil sie für alle 88 Aufnahmen gleich gelten. Das habe ich eingestellt:

 

Schärfen: 61

Klarheit +3

Lichter – 59

Vignettierung – 51

 

Danach sind die Bilder druckreif.  

 

Also:

  • weniger als 10 Minuten für 88 erstklassige Portraits - das haben Sie sicherlich noch nicht gehört?!
  • Ungefähr 5 Minuten an der Synchronisation gearbeitet zum Fine-Tuning der Fotos
  • Alle saßen an der Hochzeitstafel und warteten auf das Essen. Ich habe sie unterhalten, alle hatten viel Spaß an der Entstehung dieser Portraitserie. Und keiner musste in eine separate Portraitecke gebeten werden, was ja alle immer nervt und eine lockere fröhliche Stimmung für das Gästeshooting bekanntermaßen besser ist. Also: die gesamte Hochzeitsgesellschaft war sehr entspannt für das Foto Shooting weil sie ja schon beim Nachbarn sehen konnten, dass es schmerzlos sein würde. Es war sogar eher Partystimmung angesagt.

 

Bevor das BOUNCE-WALL Speed-Shooting richtig begonnen hat, war es schon fast wieder vorbei. An einem Tag, wo es sowieso schon so viel Programm gibt, ist das die perfekte Lösung!

Auf die BOUNCE-WALL kann ich mich 100% verlassen.

Es ist zwar nur ein DIN A4 große federleichte Kunststoffplatte, die etwas seitlich und etwas oberhalb des Gesichts angeordnet ist und daher aber das Licht aus der perfekten Richtung auf das Gesicht reflektiert.

 

Diese BOUNCE-WALL ist nur DIN A4 groß - gerade groß genug, um dieses perfekte Portraitlicht zu erzeugen und damit aber 15 - 20x größer als der normale Blitz.

Wenn ich weiß, was ich möchte, macht die BOUNCE-WALL alles mit, denn alle TTL-Funktionen bleiben voll erhalten, der Blitz bleibt dort, wo er immer ist und alle elektrischen Kontakte am Blitzfuß können benutzt werden.

 

Die gesparte Zeit kann ich wunderbar in die schönsten klassischen Hochzeitsmotive investieren und diese schicken Schwarz-Weiß-Portraits in einem Extra-Album noch als Zusatzprodukt an die Familienmitglieder bzw. Hochzeitsgäste verkaufen.

Welche Familie hat denn schon ein solches Who‘s Who der Liebsten - zusammengestellt am Hochzeitstag des Brautpaares. Alle Gäste sind perfekt gestylt, so will man sich gern im Album zeigen und sehen.

 

Und es bleibt mir mehr Zeit, mich um die Freunde des Brautpaares zu kümmern. Ungewöhnliche Gruppen- & Paarfotos sind meine besondere Leidenschaft. Alle Gäste haben mich kennengelernt und wissen, wie präzise und gut gelaunt ich arbeite und sie sehen nach der Hochzeit die genialen Bilder. Eine super Voraussetzung für einen neuen Hochzeitsauftrag.

 

Seit ich mit der BOUNCE-WALL fotografiere, laufen meine Hochzeiten entspannter ab, denn wenn ich einmal um den Tisch rum bin, weiß ich, dass ich jeden, auch wirklich jeden Gast im Kasten hab. Kennen Sie das: Hab ich den Gast nun schon fotografiert oder doch nicht? Das gibt es nicht mehr dank meiner ausgeklügelten Hochzeitsfoto-Produktions-Strategie.